Posted by: catamarantwooceans | February 24, 2011

Earthquake in Paradise

24.2.11 – When I came back home I couldn’t stop talking about the Paradise called New Zealand. The nature, the good friendly people – everything seemed so ideal.  And then, just a week after leaving Christchurch the earth moved with such disasterous consequenses. I saw the CNN coverage, camera panning the area of Cathedral square, opposite which I spent the night in the Base hostel. Somebody told me I was lucky to get away when I did but my feelings are those of sadness for the loss of life, compassion for the wounded and frustration with mother nature’s chaotic swing between beauty and horror.

My heart goes out to the people of New Zealand and to whoever was hurt by this tragedy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

