Posted by: catamarantwooceans | November 3, 2012

Maintenance–the end (for now)

30.10.12 – Tuesday – Time to try Craig’s trick; I started the engine, pulled out the pipe leading to the heat-exchanger and in about 8 seconds water was flowing freely. I reconnected the pipe and went out to check the exhaust – water coming out normally. I could have saved those 90 minutes in the engine room so easily!

Chan with a young apprentice came to fix the gel-coat cum antiskid area. It was a pleasure watching him work; the man is a real pro.

IMG_2704 - Copy

I also called Lex to understand whether his crew would be coming to clean the boat, he handed the phone to Ah, his wife who said:"Talk to Chan" I still owed the man some money; didn’t he plan on coming to collect?

In the afternoon C&C mechanics came over to change my fuel filters; although that is something I am able doing by myself, I figured that for 600 baht an hour, the exact time needed to complete the job I better use the professionals. It was also a sort of thanking Craig for his time and money saving advice.

When Chan finished his work, we sat down to talk about Lex. Chan would speak to him and arrange the payment due.

This was the first day in two weeks I had boat cooked meals. Vegetable salad and fried eggs for lunch, beef tenderloin with home fries for dinner accompanied by Hardy’s Cabernet Merlot – a welcomed change of diet.

31.10.12 – Wednesday – The dinghy, which was stored on the trampoline up front, was put in the water. I could see a small trickle of seawater coming in. Out on the dock, I flipped it over, found the tiny tear and repaired it.

Mr. Peh brought the new mattresses, he did a very good job, Gili will be very pleased.

Chan phoned to say that Lex was not interested in doing the cleaning job and asked that I give Chan the money for him. Tomorrow I’ll sail to Yacht Haven marina, where I can get people to do the cleaning and speak with a water-maker technician that was recommended to me. When crossing the Indian Ocean an operating water-maker could be nice – but not at any price! Let’s see what the man has to offer.

1.11.12 – Thursday – Motored to Yacht Haven. On the dock I saw a familiar figure; it was Quay, the technician who fixed my fridge. In the office they recommended Babi as the right person to clean the boat. "Is it a man or a woman?" "some times this and sometimes that" said one of the office girls but both off them assured that Babi was a strong worker. She (he?) came to the boat and agreed to come to work the next day.

IMG_2707 - Copy

Steve of Sea Marine Services brought his water-maker expert to the boat; guess what – it was Quay! The man does refrigeration, air-conditioning, electrical repairs and water-makers! At least this is someone I can trust. I operated the water-maker for Quay, who formed the opinion that the membrane was "broken". When I told him I still had the old one on the boat he asked to see it and said it was in a very good condition. He took it with some cleaning chemicals to his shop for testing. I insisted that we had to check the pump’s pressure first and Quay promised to bring a gauge tomorrow.   

In the evening I went for dinner to the "Papa-Mama" restaurant. The place is rather a basic one, Formica covered tables and plastic chairs on uneven wooden deck under a corrugated iron roof.

IMG_2716 - Copy

I saw no Papa but there were two generation Mamas. The young one did the cooking in the open kitchen right at the entrance; the older Mama, pareu clad, sat on three chairs stacked one on top of the other, sipping beer and watching TV. A boy and a girl took orders and waited tables. Self service drinks were in the fridge.

IMG_2713 - Copy

There were quite a few people in there so the food took a long time to arrive; once it did – it was very good and inexpensive.

2.11.12 – Friday – Babi worked all day long and did about half of the boat. Quay called to say that he had an accident with the car and will come later. A 1630 rain started; Babi left (I gave her an umbrella) and Quay showed up. He took out the gauge he wanted to use. Looking at it I saw it had a limit of 225 p.s.i. "Quay, don’t you know how much pressure this pump should give? it’s 800 p.s.i!" So he is not such a big expert after all. I decided to give it a last try. He will take it to his shop, assemble it and we’ll try it on the boat.

Dinner "at home", rain rain rain. Port red bilge pump light came on for a few seconds. Looked at the bilge and saw some water, did the taste test and found them to be sweet water. It’s the same bloody leak that goes into my wardrobe! Water pump off, sponged the bilge and waited; no leak. Put the pump on – leaking again. Pump off again, investigation will continue tomorrow; it’s already past my bed-time.

3.11.12 – Saturday – At 0400 I woke up from a dream about the water leak and couldn’t get back to sleep. At first light I had a quick breakfast and dived deep into the area the water pipes were located. Not that I didn’t do that before, but it seems the leak became stronger and thus easier to find. I’m quite confident this is the end of that story.

Babi worked all day and finished the job. Quay came and re-assembled the water-maker; we operated it but it only gave a few salty drops, nothing like it is supposed to be. Quay did not bill me and rightly so; the job was supposed to start with pressure check. Without that all he did was meaningless.

In the evening I went again to the "Papa- Mama". This time there were two generation Papas too. The day before yesterday my dish was not very spicy; I asked the cook to recommend a spicy one and today I had it – Chicken Curry.

IMG_2719 - Copy

Luckily for me they had Magnum Classic which reduced the temperature of my food intake and digestive systems. This was pure rocket fuel!

So thus ended my long maintenance period. Tomorrow I hope to sail out to the islands, waiting for Gili, who is supposed to arrive on the 9th.

Responses

  1. Like ? Much more… I feel
    as if I’m there with you, enjoying it !
    Thanks.
    Kim


Leave a Reply

Categories

